Open to Art

The international jury composed of Felicity Aylieff (artist, head of program Royal College of Art), Laura Borghi (Officine Saffi), Flaminio Gualdoni (journalist, art critic and professor at Brera Academy), Tom Morris (editor and consultant) specializing in design, interiors and architecture), Isabelle Naef Galuba (director of Ariana Museum), Elisa Ossino (architect, stylist), Ranti Tjan (director of EKWC), Matteo Zauli (curator, director of Carlo Zauli Museum) awarded the first prize for the two categories, both 5,000 euros, to

Sophie Mirra Grandjean (CH, 1986) for the Art category.
Aliki van der Kruijs (NL, 1984) for the Design category.

In addition, six Artist's Residencies Awards were awarded in collaboration with major international centers. 

Tommaso Corvi Mora (Italy, 1969) > Sundaymorning@ekwc, NL
Linda Lopez (Usa, 1981) > International Ceramic Research Center Guldagergaard, DK
Giulia Bonora (Italy, 1986) > Museo Carlo Zauli, IT
Sarah Pschorn (Germany, 1989) > International Ceramic Art Festival Sasama, JP
Virginia Leonard (Nuova Zelanda, 1965) > Amfora in Seinäjoki, FI
Cecil Kemperink (Olanda, 1963) > Museo della Ceramica of Mondovì, IT

Open to Art, now in its third edition, is a biennial award that aims to enhance and promote ceramics in contemporary art and design, to identify the most innovative products and trends in terms of language and technique. The application has reached significant levels, especially from abroad, demonstrating international interest in Open to Art.


Art Section:
Salvatore Arancio (IT), Giulia Bonora (IT), Roger Coll (ES), Tommaso Corvi Mora (IT), Yewen Dong (PRC), Sophie Mirra Grandjean (CH), Joe Isanako (JP), Cecil Kemperink (NL), Virginia Leonard (NZ), Claire Lindner (FR), Linda Lopez (USA), Claire Mayet (FR), Jongjin Park (KR), Sarah Pschorn (DE), Irina Razumovskaya (RU), Andrea Sala (IT), Priyanka Sharma (IN), John Shea (USA), Alice Walton (UK)

Design Section:
Mar De Dios (ES), Romina Gris Ormo (ES), Yves Perrella (IT), Claudio Pulicati (IT), Aliki van der Kruijs (NL)

The award is supported by:

Ariana, Swiss Museum for ceramics and glass, Geneva, Switzerland
Carlo Zauli Museum, Faenza, Italy
Ceramic Museum of Mondovì, Italy
Sundaymorning@ekwc, The Netherlands
International Ceramic Research Center Guldagergaard
Amfora and Seinäjoki city, Finland

With the patronage of City of Milan and International Museum of Ceramics in Faenza